Images uploaded to Google storage can now be used for targeted advertising. You can disable it in your account settings. You need to turn off "Personalized recommendations", then in "Personal intelligence" you need to close access to Gmail, Google Photos and other applications, and in "Search service history" you need to delete saved data. Deactivation does not delete information that Google has already stored.